top of page

Mike Miller steps down as Memphis Tigers Assistant coach

Mike Miller, former NBA player for the Memphis Grizzlies and the Miami Heat announced Wednesday that he is stepping down as the Tiger’s Assistant Coach. Coach Mike Miller spent the past two seasons as a part of Penny Hardaway’s all-star staff and was responsible for many aspects of recruiting for the Tigers.

After being hired by Coach Penny Hardaway in 2018, Miller was a well-established recruiter for the tigers and made a name for himself as one of the best college recruiters in the country. Miller was much responsible for Memphis’ #1 ranked recruiting class in 2019. Some of Miller's major accomplishments consisted of Precious Achiuwa, Boogie Ellis, and Lester Quinones.

Miller made his announcement in a tweet on Wednesday.

"As much as I've loved this job and had a blast being part of the special program Coach is building, the past few months have made me realize that it's time for me to spend more time focused on family and wherever the journey will take me next. I will find a way to stay in basketball and continue to make an impact on this city that I love so much!"

Coach Penny Hardaway released a statement following Miller's announcement Wednesday.

"I want to thank my brother, Mike Miller, for the two years he was with the team. I wish him well in his future endeavors. Once a Tiger always a Tiger. GTG"

Coach Penny Hardaway now has not two coaching positions to fill. As of now, Hardaway’s staff still consists of Cody Toppert and Tony Madlock. It is unclear who are candidates for the holes in the Memphis Tigers’ staff. Regardless, Hardaway has some pretty big shoes to fill.

15 views0 comments
bottom of page